Historic City of Rome Walking Tour with Attractions Map
Places to Visit in Rome, Follow the Rome Walking Tour Map and Guide
The following lists the attractions in Ancient Rome, including a map or Rome with a list of Ancient Rome attractions. Download the Rome walking tour map in PDF or INTERACTIVE to use offline or use it online. The map below has several walking routes for you to pick from. Use the walking routes to pick and choose the sites and attractions you want to see. Each Rome walking tour is in a different color and use the attractions guide below for additional information on the list of attractions
Download interactive Rome walking tour and map of Rome attractions HERE
Download Rome walking tour map PDF of attractions a HERE
Over 50 Top Attractions to See in Rome i
Rome Self Guided Walking Route 1 – Piazza del Popolo, Burgundy color on the Map
1. Rome Attractions: Piazza del Popolo – Ancient Rome Entrance
The only way into the city of Ancient Rome from the North was using the road via Flaminia and entering Rome through an archway /gate called Porto Flaminia, renamed Porto Del Popolo (meaning People’s Square). This area of the Rome walking tour explores the area and attractions around Piazza del Popolo
Via Flaminia was the ancient Roman road leading from Rimini and the Adriatic coast in the North to the city of Rome. It is still in use today. When travelers reached Rome using via Flaminia, they were greeted by the Aurelian Wall system protecting the city. A small opening in the wall system called Porto Flaminia (renamed Porto Del Popolo) allowed people to enter Rome. They could continue south where the road turns into Via del Corso heading to Piazza Venezia and onto the Roman Forum
The Plaza was previously a small crowded trapezoidal area that was also used for public executions. The piazza was redesigned in1583 as a grand entrance into the city from the north. The semicircle walls are based on Bernini’s design of St. Peter’s Square. The Piazza has undergone other redesigns and changes over the years. Today the major attractions in the plaza include the Egyptian obelisk, steps up to the Pincio Gardens, twin churches in the square, the Santa Maria del Popolo Church, the fountains and the destroyed walnut tree
Piazza del Popolo: Fountains
The fountains are supplied with water by the ancient aqueduct that is still in use today.
- The Fountain della dei de Roma
The fountain is at the foot of the Pincio gardens on Pincian Hill at the north end of the Piazza. The steps to the Pincio Gardens are also located here. The goddess of Rome is surrounded by figures representing the Tiber and Aniene rivers. At her feet is the she-wolf nursing Remus and Romulus, the founders of Rome
- The Neptune Fountain
The Neptune fountain shows the figure of Neptune with his trident and two Tritons. It is at the south end of the Piazza directly across from the Fountain della dei de Roma
Piazza del Popolo: Twin Churches
Santa Maria dei Miracoli (1681) and Santa Maria in Montesanto (1679). Though they look similar from a distant, each has its own individual characteristics. Santa Maria Montesanto is smaller and has a circular dome vs the oval dome of Santa Maria dei Miracoli. The churches flank the Main Street Via del Corso which heads South to Piazza Venezia or North to Via Flaminia
Piazza del Popolo: Santa Maria del Popolo
The church was built in 1477 where Emperor Nero was said to be buried. It is next to the gateway into the city, Porta del Popolo. Prior to the Church, the site had a massive walnut tree and was said to be the center of demonic activity attributed to Nero. To appease the people, the walnut tree was removed, Nero’s remains thrown into the Tiber river and a small church was built on the site. In the church you will find Rome’s oldest stained glass windows plus two Caravaggio paintings all of which amount to its treasures. One of the chapels, the Chigi Chapel, was the work of Raphael
Piazza del Popolo: Egyptian obelisk
The obelisk is the second oldest and tallest in Rome. Originally from Heliopolis, it arrived in Rome in 10BC under Emperor Augustus. It was originally located in the Circus of Maximus and moved to the Piazza in 1589. There are four mini fountains with lion statues surround the obelisk
2. Rome Attractions: Steps to Pincio Gardens
The steps are located at the northern end of Piazza Popolo. You take the steps or ramp up to the hill for breathtaking views of the piazza below. It’s a short but steep climb up. The gardens are named after the Pincii family who occupied a villa in the 4th century. It is a neighbor to the Villa Borghese gardens to the east. The gardens contain a Roman obelisk, a water-clock built in 1867 and a number or Roman busts in various stages of disrepair. Stroll the gardens especially at sunset and stop by the Piazza Napoleon. You can also take Metro line A to Flaminia station and walk to the Piazza
3. Rome Attractions: Villa Borghese Gardens
Enter the Borghese Gardens from the Pincio entrance. This entrance is found by taking the steps up from Piazza del Popolo. The Borghese Gardens are accessible either at the top of the steps at Piazza Popolo or just north of the top of the Spanish Steps. The steps will lead you to Terrazza del Pincio (Pincio Terrace). The Gardens are just beyond the terrace.
In 80 BC this portion of land was the Gardens of Lucullus. Located on the edge of the city, they were laid out by Lucius Lucullus. He was a prominent politician with over 20 year of military service. Luxury gardening was an unknown phenomena at the time and Lucius was mocked by some for his foray into this area. In 1580, the Borghese family acquired the land and built a small vineyard. The gardens were originally a private vineyard that were redesigned by Cardinal Scipione Borghese, nephew of Pope Paul V, in 1605. The Cardinal Scipione Borgehse set upon a plan to transform this land into artful and spectacular gardens as part of the plan to expand their estate. The area was transformed into a fabulous park for the Borghese family and friends.
Rome Self Guided Walking Route 2 – Attractions in the Villa Borghese Gardens, Dark Grey color on the Map
In 1901 the state purchased the land and buildings from the Borghese family and 3 years later the city opened it to the public. It is one of the largest public parks in Rome at 80 hectares and the gardens are comparable to Central Park in New York or Hyde Park in London. The park is divided into three areas: the wild and natural, a more manicured landscape with sculpture and fountains, and a wooded area
It is a great place to take a break from the Rome walking tour and spend some time in the gardens. The gardens are free and features include terraced gardens, temples, sculptures, and fountains. Spend a couple of hours walking around the paths or you can rent a bike and explore the park. Pack a picnic and spend an enjoyable afternoon in this spectacular park
There are several paid attractions in the park. The Galleria Borghese is located inside the Villa Borghese and displays the Borghese collection of sculpture, art and other antiquities.
Borghese Gardens: The San Carlino – Puppet Theater in Rome
A puppet theater is located inside the Borghese Gardens. It is a great attraction for children if you are looking for a different activity for them. The show’s main character is Pulcinella, a character with roots in Naples. where they show was originally created. This is a great fun and interactive attraction where the kids are encouraged to dream big!
Victorian Water Clock – Orologio ad acqua del Pincio
This attraction is located close to the Pincio terrace. The water clock is clock powered by water. It lies inside a fenced area and is one of the most interesting attractions of the Villa Borgese gardens. The water clock was built by Giovan Battista Embracio in 1867. His goal was to build a clock that would combine the force of nature with a scientific invention.
Casa Del Cinema
House of Cinema is located in a small building. The building has been repurposed over the years. It was once used as a restaurant, then a cow shed and now a cinema with attached restaurant. There are occasional free movies playing at the cinema with English titles.
Cinema dei Piccoli
This is a tiny cinema, aimed at kids. It holds the World Guinness record for the tiniest purpose-built air conditioned cinema with only 63 seats. When it opened in 1934, it was called Casa di Topolino (Mickey Mouse House). There was a wooden statue of Mickey Mouse holding a car on the rooftop. It didn’t take long for Walt Disney to come calling and claiming copyright. The cinema was renamed Cinema dei Piccoli. Many locals still call it “Cinema Mickey Mouse”
Children’s Centre – La Casina di Raffaello
This is another great activity area for children inside the Borghese Gardens. Designed for kids between 3-10 years old, there are spaces for toddler and toys, a small playground, a bookshop, and workshops for kids. Tickets for the area are sold separately as they are not part of the free attractions at the park
Portico dei Leoni
Construction of the portico was in two separate phases. The first one began in the 18th century by Antonio Asprucci, and the portico was completed early in the 19th century by Luigi Canina
Inside the portico is a small antiquarium of tombstones, sculptures and tablets with inscriptions. Outside the portico, there are sculpture’s of four Egyptian lions where at one time, water gushed out of their mouths
Museo Carlo Bilotti
Carlo Bilotti donated 23 works of art to the City of Rome.In addition there are paintings from Giorgio de Chirico, Larry Rivers, Gino Severini, Giacomo Manzù and Andy Warhol. The museum hosts various works of art from the 18th and 19th century and is free to visitors
Fontana di Esculapio
The fountain was built around 1830. Located close to the Temple of Asclepius, the fountain is located on a small island surrounded by a pond. Its beautiful with a large arch and an eagle perched at the top
Temple of Asclepius
One of the most popular attractions is the Temple of Asciepius. It is based on an Ancient Temple worshiping the God of Medicine however the construction was more recent as the Giardino del Lago (the Lake’s Garden) and its surroundings was constructed and designed in 1786 by Antonio Asprucci. You can rent a small boat and paddle across to island to reach the Temple or just enjoy the view of the Temple from the “mainland”
National Etruscan Museum of Villa Giulia
The Villa Giulia adjoins the Borghese Gardens and was built in 1551 as the summer residence of Pope Julius III. Today, it is the home of the National Etruscan Museum
Shakespeare Globe Theater – Gigi Proietti Globe Theatre
A replica of Shakespeare’s London Globe Theater. This is a full size functioning open air theater that showcases both Shakespearean and non-Shakespearean plays
Museo Pietro Canonica
The museum is located in a 17th century building. It is dedicated to the Italian Artist Pietro Canonica’. The museum is free and displays works including bronze and marble and the artists sketches and replicas
Piazza di Siena
The Piazza Siena is a large square with a race track. It was built in 1792 and today it hosts equestrian events including show jumping. In 1960 the piazza was the test site for the Olympic Games
Borghese Gallery and Museum
An art gallery housed in the former palace, showcasing the Borghese family collection. Sculptures and paintings from the 15th to the 18th century are displayed in this opulent villa. There are 16 rooms located on two floors. The top floor is dedicated to paintings by the Masters and the ground floor is dedicated to sculptures The gallery displays works by Bernini, Raffaello, Caravaggio, Canova, Caravaggio, Raphael, and Titian. The gallery ticket system is timed on 2 hour intervals.
Water Tower – Serbatoio dell’Acqua Marcia e Pia nel parco dei Daini a Villa Borghese
The water tower was designed by a 19 year old who won a nationwide contest for the design of the storage tank. He built it in the baroque style to fit in with the character of the surroundings
Natural History Museum – Museo Civico di Zoologia
Exhibits of pre-historic animals
The Zoo – Bioparco di Roma
Founded in 1908, the zoo covers 17 hectare in the Villa Borghese park. There are 1,114 animals and 222 species in the park.
Rome Self Guided Walking Route 3 – Spanish Steps, Orange color on the Map
4. Piazza di Spagna and the Spanish steps
Piazza di Spagna is a popular tourist destination. The Piazza is located at the bottom of Pincio hill. It is and has been a favorite tourist “hang out” destination, a meeting place for locals and a favorite place for Artist and scholars since the 16th century. Here you will find that the Square has a number of hotels, residential buildings and high-end shops. The square is named after the Spanish Embassy to the Holy See
Piazza di Spagna: Fontana della Barcaccia(Ugly Boat)
The fountain in front of the Spanish Steps was designed by Bernini; it is the ugly boat fountain and is directly in front of the Spanish Steps. The fountain depicts a sinking boat that was inspired by the flooding of the Tiber river in 1598 when a boat was found here after the waters receded. You can see water pouring from the stern of the boat. It is drinkable water so feel free to fill up your water bottles
Piazza di Spagna: The Spanish steps
The famous steps are found in the piazza and connect the piazza with the French Church of Trinità dei Monti located at the top of the stairs. The 12 flight 135 steps were built in 1725 and unveiled by Pope Innocent XIII. Attributed to the Spanish, the steps were actually financed by the French to create access for the Church and to the City below. Today the steps are lined with tourists enjoying the views of the piazza and people watching.
Piazza di Spagna: Church of Trinità dei Monti
The church is located at the top of the steps in the small piazza della Trinità dei Monti. It was built in 1495 to replace a small chapel that stood here. Commissioned by the French King Louis XIII, the obelisk was moved from the Garden of Sallust in 1778. It has undergone many renovations over the years. You can access the Medici Villa and Borghese Gardens by taking the pathway from the Church
Piazza di Spagna: Keats Shelly House
The actual house is located to the right of the steps, John Keats passed away in 1821 at 25 years old while living in this house. Today it is a museum with collections from Lord Byron, Shelley and Keats
Piazza di Spagna: Babingtons
To the left of the Spanish steps is a 120 year old tea house and reading room. Opened in 1893 to serve the English community living in Rome, it is decorated with period furniture, and old paintings. Keep in mind that it is a little pricy
4a. Rome Attractions: Piazza Mignanelli
The Piazza Mignanelli is adjacent to Piazza di Spagna. You will find the tall Column of the Immaculate Conception in the centre of the piazza and also directly in front of the Spanish Embassy of Rome.
House Museum of Giorgio de Chirico
This was the house that the abstract painter lived in. It’s been turned into a museum that opened its doors in 1998 and displays his many works. Entry is by reservation only
Column of the Immaculate Conception of the Virgin Mary
The column is 12 m high and has a bronze statue of the Virgin Mary. At the base of the Column of Immaculate Conception you will find were four statues: Moses, David, Isaiah and Ezekiel. On December 8 every year, the Pope performs a ceremony at the base of the column. The Altar of Immaculate Conception is found at St Peter’s Basilica
After exploring Piazza di Spagna and Piazza Mignanelli, the Rome walking tour can proceed to the next set of attractions indicated by the lime color on the interactive map or take a break and continue the walking tour at another time.
Rome Self Guided Walking Route 4 – Monuments to Emperor Augustus, Lime color on the Map
5. Rome Attractions: Piazza Augusto Imperatore (Emperor Augustus)
The piazza is home to the Mausoleum Augustus. Octavian, the nephew of Julius Caesar and the first Emperor of Ancient Rome who was named Emperor Augustus. He built a family mausoleum in 28BC along the banks of the Tiber River. At that time it was the largest tomb in ancient Rome. The mausoleum was 90m in diameter and 42m in height. It was a circular structure with five concentric rings format and a conical roof
Piazza Augusto Imperatore: Mausoleum of Augustus
The monument was lined with cypress trees and the entrance was a huge bronze door flanked by two pink Egyptian obelisks. The entire outer wall was covered with white marble the topped with a huge bronze statue of Augustus
Niches inside the burial chamber contained urns of the ashes of cremated emperors and members of their family. In the fifth century the mausoleum was broken into during the sack of Rome. The Visigoths took the Urns and the threw out the ashes
The mausoleum was in ruins and overgrown with plants. In 2017 a €6 million grant was received in order to restore the mausoleum to be completed in two years
6. Rome Attractions: Ara Pacis Agustae – Altar of Augustan Peace
The monument is dedicated to the Roman Goddess of Peace, Pax. An altar of peace commissioned by the Senate to welcome the Emperor back from the Spanish Campaign. Completed in 13BC and meant to represent peace and prosperity, it took 4 years to finish. The monument has a central 3m altar on a 6m podium surround by high walls. The altar was used for animal sacrifice or burnt offerings.
The exterior walls of the monument depicts important figures and events
- On the south side is a processional frieze that shows Augustus and the Imperial family dressed in ceremonial robes
- On the north side is a processional frieze of 46 officials such as magistrates, senators, priests including their families
- On the eastern wall, panels depicted the seated figures of Roma and Pax,
- On western side depicts the discovery of the twins Romulus and Remus with the she-wolf
Rome Self Guided Walking Route 4 – Ancient Rome, Blue color on the Map
7. Rome Attractions: Piazza Barberini – next stop on Rome Walking Tour
Built in 1625 under the direction of Cardinal Francisco Barbareini, it has two fountains built by Bernini. It is located in the center of Rome on Quirinal Hill, one of the seven original hills that make up Ancient Rome
- The Fontana del Triton from 1643 shows four dolphins holding up the God Triton
- Fontana Della Api located in one of the corners of the square is the fountain of the bees sculpted in 1644. Bees were the emblem of the Barberini family
Rome Self Guided Walking Route 5 – Historic Rome, Dark Green color on the Map
8. Rome Attractions: Trevi Fountain
There are a number of attractions and eateries around the Trevi fountain. Its an opportunity to taste some local cuisine before exploring the points of interests in this area. The Rome walking tour is designed to take breaks and needed so that the self guided tour fits within your schedule.
Derived from “tre vie” meaning three streets, the location of the fountain is at the intersection of three streets. The fountain was built at the end point of the aquaduct Aqua Virgo which was built in the 19BC and reconstructed the Aqua Vergine in 1453. It is one of the oldest sources of water in Rome
Legend has it that the water from the trivi fountain was discovered when a young Roman girl led thirsty soldiers to fresh water. The aqua duct was built to transport the water to Rome. It was commissioned by Augustus to provide water to the thermal baths. In 1762 after 30 years of construction the trevi fountain was built to showcase the endpoint of the aqua duct. It was built like a triumphant arch against a wall of Palazza Poli. Built in the baroque style, the fountain is a masterful at 49m wide and 26m tall.
The focal point is the center statue called Oceanus. It is the god Neptune on a chariot in the shape of a shell pulled by two horses that are led by tritons. One calm horse and one unruly horse representing the faces of the sea.
Trevi Fountain: The Statues of Abundance and Health
The statues occupy the niches to the side of the triton sculpture. Abundance is holding a horn and that’s filled with fruit while Health has a wreath perhaps indicating medicinal plants.
Trevi Fountain: General Agrippa
At the top of the fountain are two reliefs. To the left is the scene with General Agrippa who led the construction of the aquaduct. It shows Agrippa in discussion with Augustus as he shares the plans of the Aquaduct. The Relief on the right is that of the young virgin showing the Roman soldiers the source of the water.
Trevi Fountain: Papal Coat of Arms
The top is crowned with the papal coat of arms. The semicircular base of the fountain represents the sea. 80 million liters of water flows through here every day and it is recycled suppling other fountains in the city.
Many people throw a coin in the fountain for good luck or to return to Rome. Coins thrown in the fountain are donated to charity and estimated at about €3,000 per day
9. Rome Attractions: Piazza Colonna
Piazza Colonna is the location of the prime minister’s residence, Palazzo Chigi.
Construction of the palace commenced in 1562 by the Aldobrandini family who had hired Giacomo della Porta to design it for them. The Chigi family purchased the palace in 1659. It was known for its its vast collection of works housed in the Chigi Library. The collection was eventually relocated and is now housed at the Vatican
In 1879 the Palazzo was the site of the Austro-Hungarian Embassy and in 1916 it became a government building. Guided tours are available on Saturdays for those who have reserved in advance. Contact [email protected] or by calling (+39) 06 6779 3417 to reserve your spot
Piazza Colonna: Column of Marcus Aurelius
In front of the Palazzo is the Column of Marcus Aurelius, one of the five “good” Emperors of Ancient Rome. It was built sometime between 176 and 193AD. The 100ft column stands on a 30 foot base and 10 foot platform which is partially below ground level. During the 1589AD restoration it was topped with a statue of St Paul to replace the long lost statue of Marcus Aurelius that previously topped the column
It is a hollow column with a 12ft diameter comprised of 28 blocks of marble. The hollow center has 200 steps allowing one to reach the platform at the top of the column.
The relief at the base of the column depicts the war in 172AD between the Marcomanni and Quadi. Take a close look at the expressions on the faces of the captured and you may be able to see the despair and misery etched into the stone.
10. Rome Attractions: Piazza di Monte Citorio
Located close to the Pantheon, the piazza is anchored by the Bernini designed Palazzo di Montecitorio. The palatial residence was home of the Cardinal Ludovico Ludovisi nephew of Pope Gregory XV. In the middle of the piazza is an Egyptian obelisk transported during the reign on emperor Caesar Augustus. Today the building is one of the Houses of Parliament and the chamber of deputies. It is open to visitors the first Sunday of every month. It is very close to Piazza Colonna
11. Rome Attractions: Temple of Hadrian – next stop on Rome Walking Tour
Hadrian was deified by his adopted son and successor Antonius Pius with a temple dedicated to him in 145AD in the Campus Martius. Both Hadrian and Antonius were considered good Emperors. Today it is the Piazza di Pietra. Hadrian ruled not to expand his territory but to make life better for the citizens of Rome. Unusual for those times Hadrian was openly gay and travelled with his gay lover. Today only 11 of the 38 columns remain. It was the location of the stock exchange and is occupied by a bank. It is illuminated each evening in a light and sound show that lasts 12 minutes
Rome Self Guided Walking Route 6 – Square and Churches, Brown color on the Map
12. Rome Attractions: Pantheon & Piazza della Rotonda
The Rome walking tour is flexible enough to take each walking route as a separate self guided walking tour. There are a lot attractions and points of interest in this walking route, the brown color walking tour, and you may want to take your time exploring this area.
Piazza della Rotonda is the Square where you will find the Pantheon. The Pantheon was converted into a Christian church in the 609 AD and referred to as the Santa Maria Rotonda. Central to the rectangular piazza is the Fontana del Pantheon with an Egyptian obelisk to its south. The fountain was constructed in1575 with water flowing to it from the aqua Vergine. The red marble 20 foot obelisk was constructed by Pharaoh Ramses II in Heliopolis for the Temple of Ra. It was brought to Rome in ancient times and eventually moved to its current location in 1711AD. In the 19th century the Piazza was a busy market selling birds, fish, fruits and vegetables.
Pantheon was originally built as a pagan worshipping temple in Ancient Rome. In Greek Pantheon means “honor all gods”. It a miracle that it has survived the violent Roman history and various natural disasters. Very little is known about the history of the pantheon but here are some facts:
- built on this site and dedicated to the founder of Rome, Romulus
- General Agrippa built it in 27BC
- The great fire of 80AD caused irreversible damage and it was rebuilt
- In 110AD burned down during a lighting strike
- rebuilt by Hadrian in 120 AD in its current form. He often used it to convene the Senate
- Pliny, a Roma author, is said to have documented that at one time the Pantheon contained statues of Venus, Mars and Julius Caesar
- given to Pope Boniface IV in 609AD by Emperor Phocas
- became the Christian church of St. Mary and the Martyrs but was still referred to as the Pantheon
It’s a perfect dome on the inside however it looks flattened on the outside. The dome is perfectly proportioned where the diameter of the dome is 46 m which is equal to the height of the temple from the floor to the oculus. It is an engineering feat regarded as the world’s largest unsupported dome.
The oculus has a diameter of 7.8 m and is open to the sky. The sunlight flows into the temple from the oculus making it a perfect sundial. The floor has a geometrical pattern. It is the original marble floor and is slanted in order to drain any rain water from the open oculus
The pantheon was the final resting place of Raphael, several kings, queens and poets
The portico is supported by 16 Corinthians columns that were transported from Egypt. Their journey began in a quarry and were taken 100 km to the Nile river, loaded onto barges, taken to the Mediterranean Sea, transferred to ships then transported back onto barges to float down the Tiber River.
13. Rome Attractions: Piazza Navona
Piazza Navona is built on the site of Domitian Stadium that was built in 1st century AD. It was used for festivals and sporting events and referred to as Circus Agonalis (Agonalis referring to competition) accommodating 20,000 spectators. The area was paved in the 15th century and became a public space. It housed an open air market for a hundred years. The market then moved to Campo de’ Fiori in 1869. Over the years the Piazza has undergone changes to become the vibrant square it is today. It is a lively energetic piazza with restaurants, cafes, shops, street entertainment, and painters
Excavations have been made 5 m below the square to the street level of Domitian’s Stadium. Tickets and additional information to visit the excavation HERE
Piazza Navona: Three Beautiful Fountains. Focal points in the Piazza
Piazza Navona: Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi
The fountain of the four rivers is in the center and was designed by Bernini in 1651. It represents the four rivers where Christianity spread : the Ganges, the Nile, the Danube, and the Rio de la Plata. The 16m obelisk in the center was transported here from the circus of Maxentius
Piazza Navona: Fontana del Moro
Located at the southern end, the seashell fountain was sculpted by Giancomo della Porta (an apprentice of Michaelangelo) and expanded by Bernini.
Piazza Navona: Fontana del Nettuno
The fountain of Neptune on the northern end was started by Giancomo della Porta and finished 300 years later
14. Rome Attractions: Church of Sant’Agnese in Agone
The church was built on the site where St Agnes was martyred in 304AD. Very little is known about her. She refused to marry when she came of marriageable age which was age 12. Had she married her punishment for being a Christian would have been commuted. She was killed by sword and her body released for burial (instead of being dumped) which suggests she came from a prominent family. A medieval church was built in 1123AD and rebuilding began in 1752 in order to convert the church into a private family chapel for the Palazzo Pamphilj next door.
15. Rome Attractions: Palazzo Pamphilj
The Palazzo is located next to the church of Sant’Agnese in Agone, with the Fontana del Moro in front of the palace. The palace was the family home of Pope Innocent X. It was built between 1644 and 1650. Since 1920 it has been the location of the Brazilian Embassy and in 1960 it became the property of Brazil. You can visit the rooftop terrace which is open to the public and has a restaurant and bar with a great view of the city
16. Rome Attractions: Palazzo Torres Massimo Lancellotti
At the south end of Piazza Navona, the palace was built for the Spanish Torres family in 1560. Built for the Archbishop of Salarneo, a native of Malaga, Spain
17. Rome Attractions: Palazzo Braschi – Museo di Roma
At the end of the square is the Museo di Roma depicting the history of Rome in the former Palazzo Braschi (Braschi Palace). It has been occupied by Napoleons administration. It was the location of the Ministry of interior and at one point it became the political headquarters of Benito Mussolini. Later it housed refugees. Today it is a museum showcasing Rome’s history
18. Rome Attractions: Santa Maria della Pace – Next stop on Rome Walking Tour
The palazzo is located west of Piazza Navona where you will find a small church built in the 15th century. It’s a little hard to find, but if you walk down a narrow street, it’s at the end of that street. The church has an unusual design with an octagonal center capped with a circular dome and a short rectangular nave. It contains artwork by Raphael, Maderno, Peruzzi, Orazio Gentileschi and masters. Raphael’s fresco is located in the first chapel. There is a painting of the Virgin Mary by an unknown artist. Legend had it that a drunken soldier pierced the painting where Mary’s heart was, and the painting bled. The painting has been given a prominent spot in the church above the main altar.
Rome Self Guided Walking Route 7 – Markets, Light Green color on the Map
19. Rome Attractions: Piazza Campo Dè Fiori
The piazza’s name refers to the “field of flowers” that occupied the site in the mid 15th century. In ancient time this area was an unused plot of land between Pompey’s Theater and the Tiber River. The Tiber river frequently flooded the area. The area was paved in 1456 and it became the site of a live horse market. Many homes, shops and taverns were built in the area. The Taverna della Vacca which translates as “cow’s Inn” is still standing at the southwest corner of the Piazza. The taverns belonged to the lover of Pope Alexander VI, born Rodrigo de Borja. His family seal is still on the exterior of the tavern.
In 1869 the fish and vegetable market was relocated here from Piazza Navona. Today it is located in the historic city centre just south of Piazza Navona and and one block northwest of Palazzo Farnese. It is a five minute walk to Ponte Sisto, the pedestrian bridge to Trastevere, a lively area in Rome, popular with both locals and tourists
The Piazza is the site the famous outdoor day market selling flowers, fruits, fish, spices, vegetables, souvenirs, meat, cheese, oils and kitchen wares. Open everyday except Sunday. In the evening it turns into a lively square with cafes, restaurants and bars. This may be a great place to take a break from the Rome walking tour and explore the market including sampling some local cuisine
Giordano Bruno Statue
In ancient times this area was the site of public executions included that of the Philosopher and Dominican Friar Giordano Bruno. His blackened statue stands in the Square. He was burned at the stake accused of heresy in the 1600s. His crime was suggesting that the stars in the sky are actually other suns in the universe. He is recognized as an advocate for freedom of speech
Fontana della Terrina
Located on the west side of the square, the fountain from 1590 was used to bring fresh water into the city using the aquaduct Virgo. Its name comes from its look. It looks like a terrine and therefore it is referred to as Fontana della Terrina. It is a replica; the original fountain had a lid and is in front of the Chiesa Nuovo.
Twin granite fountains shaped like bathtubs thought to be originally from the Baths of Caracalla. The fountains were built in 1626
20. Rome Attractions: Church of Santa Brigida
A 15th century church where St Bridget lived and died. She was a noble woman from Sweden raised by a devote Catholic family. She was a devoted wife and mother of eight children; one of them became a saint as well, St Catherine. After the death of her husband she sold all her possessions and dedicated her life to the Church. St Bridget travel to Rome with her daughter Catherine in 1349 for papal confirmation of a Religious Order she founded, the order of St. Saviour. She stayed for 24 years in Rome caring for the poor and sick. Her Order received confirmation in 1370 and flourished under the name Brigittines. She died in 1373 and her body was returned to Sweden. The little church was dedicated to her by Pope Boniface IX after her canonization in 1391. Just before the Great Jubilee in 2000, Pope John Paul II named St. Bridget of Sweden, Patron Saint of Europe
21. Rome Attractions: Piazza Farnese
Located just around the corner from Campo Dè Fiori is the site of Palazzo Farnese. Giulia Farnese (‘la Bella’) was the mistress Pope Alexander Borgia. As a favour to her, he appointed her brother as a Cardinal at age 25. Cardinal Allessandro Farnese, later he became Pope Paul III. Cardinal Farnese acquired the land and buildings at this site. He had many homes and buildings demolished and set about building a family home and private chapel. Spanning 72 years and three generations, it was completed in 1589. It was originally designed by Antonio da Sangallo in 1517. Over the years great artists and architects such as Michelangelo and Giacomo della Porta worked on the Palace. Today is the home of the French Embassy
The Farnese family had vast property including the Villa Farnese in Trastevere and the Farnese Gardens on Palatine Hill
Information to visit the Palazzo is HERE , additional information can be found at the French Embassy website.
22. Rome Attractions: Michaelangelo’s Residence
Palazzo delle Assicurazioni Generali, is found across from Palazzo Venezia. It is an insurance building imitating Palazzo Venezia. In the Palazzo, facing the Vittoriano, is a plaque showing the house where Michelangelo Buonarroti lived. It has since been torn down
A Historic Rome Attraction: The Square where Julius Caesar was murdered
23. Rome Attractions: Largo di Torre Argentina
Largo di Torre Argentina is a square in the ancient Campus Martin. Campus Martin means “Field of Mars”, named the Roman god Mars. Campus Martin was a 2 km piece of public land in the middle ages. It was north of the Capitoline Hill, located within the city of Rome but outside the religious boundary of Rome. From the 6th century to late Antiquity, this piece of land underwent various stages of construction and development. The area was excavated in the time of Benito Mussolini in the 1930’s and in 2012 it was announced that the exact spot where Caesar was murdered was discovered in the ruins of the excavation.
24. Rome Attractions: Teatro di Pompeo
The first permanent theater in Rome was completed in 55BC by Pompey the Great, a popular general in the army, Gnaeus Pompeius Magnus. The theater was part of a complex that included colonnades for evening strolls, beautifully landscaped garden, fountains, sculptures, gallerias and arcades to display artwork, and a Curia. The curia are meeting rooms where the senate would meet.
The curia was relocated here while the Curia Julia in the Roman Forum was being renovated. The Curia is famous as the area where Julius Caesar was assassinated by Brutus, Cassius and 60 co-conspirators (senate members) on March 15, 44BC when he was on his way to Teatro di Pompeo. Today, March 15 is known as the “Ides of March“. The popular saying “Beware of the Ides of March” was dramatized in Shakespeare play Julius Caesar. In this play a soothsayer warns Caesar with the words “Beware of the Ides of March” as Caesar heads off to the Senate meeting. This was right before Caesar was assassinated
25. Rome Attractions: Curia di Pompeo
The Curia di Pompeo was a designated meeting hall for the Roman Senate located in the Largo di Torre Argentina. The Curia was a curved section attached to the porticos behind the theater stage and the seating area. The theater lasted for centuries, however the Curia was walled up and eventually burned soon after Julius Caesar’s murder.
Rome Self Guided Walking Route 8 – Trajan’s Forum, Purple color on the Map
26. Rome Attractions: Palazzo Bonaparte
On the north end where Piazza Venezia meets Via del Corso is a 17th century palace. The 3000 square meter home was the home of several well connected Roman families. It was purchased by Maria Letizia Ramolino (Letizia Bonaparte), Napoleon Bonaparte’s mother in 1818. The palace was renamed Palazzo Bonaparte and became the residence of the Bonaparte family. Napoleon’s mother lived there for last 18 years of her life after her exile from France until 1836. She spent most of her time on the first-floor balcony overlooking the corner of Piazza Venezia and Via del Corso, observing the busy streets of 19th century Rome.
27. Rome Attractions: Piazza Venezia
Located at the base of Capitoline Hill, it’s name is derived from the Palazzo Venezia, the home of Pope Paul II. Today the palazzo is a museum. The Piazza is located in the middle of a busy round-a-bout where four roads meet; the Via del Corso, Via del Plebiscito, Via di Teatre Marcello and Via dei Fori Imperiali.
The 80mx220m monument is dedicated to Victor Emmanuel II who defeated the papal army, established the Kingdom of Italy and was proclaimed King in 1861. Construction began four years after his death in the year 1885. It was completed in 1925. It is commonly referred to by the Roman’s as a “typewriter” or “wedding cake”. Its style is not popular as it does not fit with the area.
On either side of the gate are two fountains representing the seas surrounding Italy. The left fountain is the Adriatic Sea and the right fountain represent the Tyrrhenian Sea.
At the center is the monument of Victor Emmanuel, also known as the ‘Father of the Nation. The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier dedicated in 1921, is found at the base of the statue. In front of the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier is the Goddess of Rome, Roma, guarding the eternal flame
It has 15m high columns forming a curve
Two bronze quadrigae crown the monument, each with a statue of a winged Victory. The quadriga on the right represents freedom, while the one on the left represents unity. They were added in 1927, sixteen years after the monument was inaugurated
Trajan’s Forum, Trajan’s Column and Trajan’s Market
This was my favorite area in historic Rome. There is so much history in this one small area. Take your time to explore these attractions
- Trajans Forum
- This was the last forum to be built in Imperial Rome and paid for by the spoils of the Dacian wars and officially opened in 112AD
- The construction required leveling of the 40 m hill on Capitoline Hill
- It was one of the grandest forums built in its time at 300m long and 185m wide
- The area consisted of a covered market (shopping mall), and residential buildings as well an area to meet and socialize in the courtyard
- Trajans Column
- The column was built in 113AD to commemorate Emperor in the Dacian Wars.
- Including the pedestal, the column is 35 meters tall. The frieze illustrates scenes from the military campaign, however you will notice it lacks violent conflict.
- Scenes include crossing of the Danube, voyage up the Danube, the surrender of the Dacians,
- Dacia was an area north of Macedonnia and Greece
- Trajans Market
- The latest theory is that this area is the worlds oldest shopping mall, with a combination of administrative office, shops, apartments and a library.
- Construction of the six story complex is estimated at 100-110AD
- Tickets can be purchased for the market
Additional Places To Visit
28. Rome Attractions: Trastevere
A trendy neighborhood in Rome that is popular with both locals and tourists. From Campo de’Fiore, It is a five minute from to the pedestrian bridge Ponte Sisto. Ponte Sisto will take you to Trastevere. Use the map and travel guide HERE to visit Trastevere
29. Rome Attractions: Castel Sant’Angelo
Originally designed to be used as a Mausoleum for Emperor Hadrian and his family, it has taken on other functions. It has also been used as a fortress and a castle and today it is a museum. Construction on the mausoleum started in 135AD and was completed in 139AD
There is a huge statue of St Michel on the top because it is said he appeared here before Pope Gregory to end the plague in 590. The building was renamed Castel Sant’Angelo meaning Saint Angel Castle. Around 270AD it became part of the Aurelian Wall that fortified the city. In 1277 it was purchased by the Vatican as a refuge in the event it would be needed. A secret corridor called Passetto di Borgo, Di Borgo Passage, connected the two. In the 14th century it became a fortress; a tunnel was added between the castle and the Vatican
30. Rome Attractions: Baths of Caracalla Rome
The baths were built around 212AD during the time of Emperor Caracalla. The baths were open to the public at no charge. As the second largest public baths, a special aquaduct, Aqua Marcia, was built to supply water to them. The main building was 328x116m with a capacity of 1,600 customers at a time. The entire complex had a swimming pool, two gymnasiums, shops, and two libraries; one for documents in Latin and one for Greek. Bathing was not only for hygiene, it was for socializing and relaxing and as such the surrounding were pleasing with a garden, courtyards, valuable artwork such as paintings and sculptures in a building covered in marble. The aquaduct was destroyed by invaders in 537 and the bath was subsequently closed.