Epic Dublin Self Guided Walking Tour

Top 50 Attractions on Three Dublin Self Guided Walking Tour

Walk 2 – Top 16 attractions, guide to Temple Bar Region just south of the River Liffey, Dublin

  • Dublin Self Guided Walking Tour Walk 1 – Top 18 Attractions, guide to Dublin City Center, North of the River Liffey Dublin, Click HERE
  • Dublin Self Guided Walking Tour Walk 3 – Top 16 attractions, guide to Historic Dublin, Click HERE

Use the Dublin Self Guided Walking Tour below to visit the attractions in Dublin that are south of the River Liffey. A complete self guided walk, map and guide to Dublin attractions, including Trinity College, Book of Kells, Statues and Squares. Follow the Dublin Self Guided Walking Tour in black below, to explore the city at your own place. Spend a few hours or two days depending on how you want to complete all three walking tours and how long you want to spend at each attraction. There are three separate Dublin Self Guided Walking: Tour 1- Downtown Central Dublin located north of River Liffey, Tour 2 – Temple Bar Region, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street located south of River Liffey and Tour 3 – Historic Dublin includes Dublin Corporation, Dublin City Hall (and includes parts of the Temple Bar Region)

Dublin Self Guided Walking Tour 2 – Start at Merchants Arch. Break after the walk or you may want to take a break on Grafton Street and then continue onto Dublin Self Guided Walking Tour 3

Download the INTERACTIVE Dublin Self Guided Walking Tour map of Temple Bar Region HERE

Dublin Self Guided Walking Tour 2
Attractions South of Liffey River, Temple Bar Region

Download PDF Dublin Self Guided Walking Tour and Map of Temple Bar Region Map HERE

Start Dublin Self Guided Walking Tour 2

1. Merchants’ Arch, Temple Bar: Temples bar food market

Start the Dublin Self Guided Walking tour at Merchants Arch which connects Liffey Street with the Temple bar Area. Walking through the arch you will find vendors, buskers and businesses. Established by an Act of Parliament in 1757, it was seen as a necessary thoroughfare creating a network of streets. The Arch is sometimes viewed as a rundown passage; note the coat of arms above the arch. The Arch is part of Merchants Hall in 1820.  Established in 1821, it was once the Merchant Guild Hall and only one of two 19th century buildings still in use in Dublin.

The Merchants Guild Hall representing almost guilds in existence at the time including a Tailors Guild, A Bricklayer’s Guild, A Weavers’ Guild a Carpenters’ Guild, a Millers’ Guild, a Goldsmiths’ Guild. The guild of Barber-Surgeons’ and Apothecaries and the Cooks and Vinters Guild, etc. The Merchants Guild was eventually disbanded and the building was repurposed as a poplin shirt factor and a protestant boy’s school. The archway was home to a shoe and boot repair company, booksellers, bric-a-brac stores, antique stores and a secret IRA munitions factory.

2. Temple Bar Region – Leo Burdock Fish and Chips since 1913

It is located in the Temple Bar Region. Its a nice lunch spot and break from the Dublin Self Guided Walking tour. It is named after the son of the original owners Bella Burdock and Patrick Burdock, the popular fish and chip shop has expanded to other locations. Initially Patrick, with his son Leo, would head by horse and cart to the Dublin Fish markets at 5am to get the catch of the day, and pick up potatoes and coal for heating the pans to prepare the fish and chips. It’s been visited by tourists, Dubliners and famous celebrities from around the world. Check their wall of fame

The Tourist Information Center is across from LeoBurdocks, just at the corner

3. Trinity College

It is Ireland’s oldest university and one of the seven ancient universities of Britain and Ireland. Adam Loftus, Archbishop of Dublin requested a center of higher learning from Queen Elizabeth I as Ireland did not have one while Britain had several. Granted by the Queen to solidify its commitment to Ireland, the college was founded by Queen Elizabeth I in 1592 and was modelled after Oxford and Cambridge. Trinity College officially the College of the Holy and Undivided Trinity of Queen Elizabeth, is commonly referred to as University of Dublin or Trinity College

Located outside the city walls of Dublin in the buildings of the banned Catholic Augustinian Monastery and Prior of All Hallows. As the city grew, the college eventually became part of the heart of the city. Catholics were admitted in 1793 with restrictions, including not being able to obtain prominent positions such as becoming fellows, professors or scholars. An Act of Parliament lifted these restrictions in 1873. Women were admitted to the college in 1904

Graduates of the 47 acre, 400-year-old college include Archbishop Loftus, Oscar Wilde, Robert Emmet who led a rebellion against British rule in 1803, Samuel Beckett, and the former Irish president, Mary Robinson.

Today Trinity College is an educational campus to 17,000 students and a tourist attraction visited by over 2 million tourists a year. Ireland’s political, cultural, architectural and literary history is laid bare in the campus grounds and buildings. This is another great spot to take a break from the Dublin Self Guided Walking tour and explore the college.

4. Trinity College Old Library: Library

The Old Library was established in 1801 and has at least one copy of every book published in Ireland. As a legal deposit library, it has an inventory of 5 million books, many are in the ornate library, and others are held offsite and need to be ordered in

The Old Library is home to a number of documents attesting to Ireland’s political and cultural history. You will find the Trinity College Harp from the 14th century and used in Irelands Coat of Arms and the last remaining copy of the Proclamation of the Irish republic, which changed the course of Irish history during the Easter Rising of 1916. Yuu will need tickets to enter.

5. Trinity College: Book of Kells

While the university shelves have many of the rarest and oldest books in its possession, none is more famous than the Book of Kells. The Book of Kells, also known as the Book of Columba, is a 680 page Latin manuscript from 800AD that contains four gospels of the New Testament from an unknown origin; It was created in a Columban monastery in Britain or Ireland and brought by 9th century Scottish monks to the Kells Abby in Meath. It has survived raids by the Vikings, dissolution of the Kells Abbey in the 12th century and the invasion of Ke lls by Oliver Cromwell in 1654. After this, it was sent to Dublin for safekeeping and was presented to Trinity College in 1661.  Two of the four volumes are displayed at a time and every day one page of the book is turned over by the librarian. The illuminated book is a popular tourist attraction. Keep in mind that the line up to visit this attraction on the Dublin Self Guided Walking tour is long

You can find a digital copy HERE:

Trinity College: Fun Facts and Myths

  • If you pass under the bell tower while it is tolling, you will fail your final exams
  • Graduating students walk under the bell tower on graduation day as a rite of passage
  • The Book of Kells is free to view for students of the college

6. Sweny’s pharmacy

A unique attraction on the Dublin Self Guided Walking tour. It was opened in 1847 as a doctor’s office that included an apothecary and over time a pharmacy. The business gained fame when it was featured in James Joyce’s novel Ulysses. Maintained by volunteers, it is no longer a working pharmacy and is largely preserved, mostly through neglect.

7. Several attractions from Dublin Self Guided Walking tour located in Merrion Square

It is an attractive park on the south side of Dublin that retains its Georgian character. Surrounded on three sides by red brick Georgian town houses and closed off by the Duke of Leinster’s palace, Leinster House that is Ireland’s Parliament is located here. Adjacent to Leinster House is the National History Museum and the National Gallery of Ireland. The Square was developed in 1752 and was a private park with beautiful gardens that were accessed through a locked gate for the residents only. In 1960, the square was donated to the Dublin Corporation, City of Dublin, and opened to the public. It was named Merrion Park in 2010.

Georgian Residences on the Dublin Self Guided Walking tour:

The Georgian townhouses surrounding the park were built over 30 years and had to adhere to the strict design styles. They were home to famous Dubliners including:

  • 1 Merrion Square – Home of Oscar Wilde
  • 58 Merrion Street – Home of Daniel O’Connell
  • 71 Merrion Street – Home of fasion Designer Sybil Connoly
  • 82 Merrion Square – Home of poet W. B. Yeates

Many of the residents sold their townhouses and moved to the southside. The townhouse were then converted to business such as No 63, the Royal Society of Antiquaries however some still retain their residential status and are occupied as homes

The park is a popular spot for students from nearby Trinity college and Dubliners and tourists who want to take a peaceful break from the hustle of the City.  Street food vendors setup during lunchtime and markets pop up every so often. There is a playground for children and washroom facilities are free at the nearby National Museum

8. Merrion Square Park, Oscar Wilde Statue

Nickname Queer with a Leer or Fag on the Crag

The statue is located close to his home on Merrion Square in the Georgian Quarter which can be found on the Dublin Self Guided Walking map. Oscar was married at one time, however his open homosexuality led him to spend some time in the English prisons and he wrote one of his most famous poems titled “The Ballad of Reading Goal.” He was  released in 1897. An Irish playwright and Dubliner known for the famous play “The Importance of Being Ernest.” 

9. National Museum of Ireland – National History Museum

The History museum opened in 1857, a mere two years before the publication of Charles Darwin’s “The Origin of the Species”. The museum, also referred to as “Dead Zoo”, is part of the National Museum of Ireland and has over 2M specimens. Is one of the world’s greatest collections, They are displayed in a charming atmosphere with creaking wood floors and glass cabinet display cases. The exhibits include a display of insects, wildlife and extinct animals

What to see in the Natural History Museum

  • The Irish Room – Sea animals, birds and mammals
  • World Animal Collection – 20m whale, chimpanzee, gorillas and human skeletons
  • Discovery Zone – extinct animals such as the Tasmanian Tiger, as well as panda, and rhinoceros
  • Blaschka Collection – Glass models of marine animals by the Blaschka family

10. National Museum of Ireland – Archaeology Display

This is the archeology wing of the national museum of Ireland on Kildare Street. The exhibition consists of prehistoric Celtic and Medieval artifacts, a stunning gold exhibition and Church treasures. The exhibit includes well-preserved bog bodies believed to be sacrificed by the various kings according to Celtic traditions. The bodies dating as far back as the iron age were exhumed from the Irish midland peat bogs. The remarkable preservation includes fine details such as fingernails, tangled hair and sinewy limbs

Walking through the museum is a lesson in history of:

  • Irelands Viking settlements, some from the excavations of Wood Quay in Dublin
  • Medieval Ireland’s establishment of churches and castles

11. Leinster House

Leinster House is the home of the National Parliament of Ireland. Construction started in 1745 and was completed in 1748 by James, Earl of Kildare. His residence was far from the aristocratic residences located at the time north of the Liffey. The house was the Earls official residence in Dublin. Originally called Kildare House, it was used as a model for the current White House in the US.  Leinster House was sold in 1815 to the Royal Dublin Society (RDS) by the 3rd Duke of Leinster. At that time two new wings were added, the national Library of Ireland and the National Museum of Ireland. You can tour the site, information is located HERE

12. Little Museum of Dublin

The next stop on the Dublin Self Guided Walking tour is the Little Museum of Dublin. It is in the heart of downtown, the museum shows the history of 20th century Dublin. The museum is in an 18th century Georgian townhouse owned by the city. It has over 5000 pieces on display spread over three floors and an Irish style cafe in the basement. It has won awards and is a popular place with over 50,000 visitors a year

The museum has a Tourist Greeter program called “City of a Thousand Welcomes”. It is a civic initiative that connects tourists with a local. S/he will take connect with you over a pint, tea or coffee where they will tell you about the city.  It’s a popular free program, you can register for it HERE

13. St Stephens Green

The park was built on marshy land at the edge of the city and used mostly for animals to graze free. To raise much needed funds, in 1663 the government cordoned off the area and sold the surrounding area where developers built houses for the wealthy. The cordoned off area became a garden for the wealthy who lived in the area. The Guinness family were pursued to redesign the gardens as a park and open it to the public. As a way of thanks a statue of Sir Alec Guiness, in his honor is found in the park. The Victorian park was reopened in 1880 by Lord Ardilaun, Sir Edward Guinness, 1st Baron Ardilaun . It was named St Stephens Green after the St Stephens church and leprosy hospital located here in the 13th century. 

During the 1916 Easter Uprising, the park was a battleground complete with trenches between the Irish Citizens Army and the British Army . Ceasefires were called to allow the workers to feed the ducks in the pond. Today the 22 acre park has 3.5 km of pathways, a distinct herbaceous border and a man made lake for waterfowls. The park is a peaceful sanctuary in the inner city. There are a number of statues representing important Irish historical figures and events, a waterfall, a playground, a garden for the visually impaired, public toilets and free lunch time concerts during the summer months

14. Dublin Self Guided Walking tour attractions at St Stephens Green
Monuments Include:

  • The Fusiliers’ Arch dedicated to the men who fought in the second Boer war. The arch is located at the entrance to Grafton Street
  • A memorial to the Great Famine of 1845 by Edward Delaney
  • A seated statue of Sir Edward Guinness, known as Lord Ardilaun who donated the land to the city
  • A fountain with a bronze statue of three women donated by the German people for fostering 500 German children during WW2. The campaign was known as operation shamrock
  • A statue of the famous sculptor Henry Gates, located in the yeats memorial garden. The garden was dedicated to the famous Irish poet William Butler Yeats
  • A statue of Jeremiah O’Donovan Rossa, leader of the Irish Republican Brotherhood in support of an Ireland independent of Britain. His statue is near the Grafton Street entrance
  • A bust of Irish literary giant James Joyce. It faces his alma matar Newman House
  • A statue of Robert Emmet, Irish patriot and nationalist rebel leader. He is standing across from his now demolished birthplace at no 124 St Stephens Green
  • A statue of Countess Markievicz, an Irish nationalist politician who took part in the 1916 Easter Uprising. She was sentenced to death but the sentence was later commuted due to her gender. She was first women in the world to be elected and held a cabinet position, Minister of Labour, in the British government from 1919 -1922
  • A bronze statue of Theobald Wolfe Tone, the leader of the Irish Rebellion of 1798 is on the Merrion Row corner

15. Grafton Street – Rest stop or shopping stop on the Dublin Self Guided Walking tour

Exit St Stephens Green from Fusiliers Arch and walk up Grafton Street. One of the most expensive shopping street in the world it is one of two shopping streets located in Dublin City center. The other one being Henry Street. Grafton Street is named after the Lord Lieutenant of Ireland and illegitimate son of Charles II of England, 1st Duke of Grafton, Henry Fitzroy. In the 19th century, it was famous for the number of prostitutes that worked on Grafton Street, numbering about 1,500. Grafton became a pedestrian street in 1971 and by 1983 the pedestalization was complete. It was repaved in 1988 and transformed into a high-end shopping area.

Today Grafton street is a popular tourist attraction in the Irish Capital with shopping, pubs, restaurants, vendors, street entertainment and buskars.  The streets are narrow and the crowds are huge leading to a cozy, bustling atmosphere of Dubliners and tourists. You can enter Grafton street at one end starting at Stephens Green, meander through the streets and exit at the entrance to Trinity College.

After the Walk – Might be a good time to take a break – Grafton Street

McDaids Pub on Harry Street

McDaids just off Grafton Street is an old Irish pub where I hear the best Guinness in Town is served. Sit at at the bar and chat with the bartender for an authentic Irish experience. I stop by hear whenever I am in town and have never been disappointed. The bar is located across from Phil Lynotts’ statue

16.  Molly Malone Statue – last stop on the Dublin Self Guided Walking tour

Nickname Tart with a Cart” or Dish with the Fish

Continue on Grafton Street to Suffolk Street to the Mary/Molly Malone Statue. Erected in 1988, on the corner of Grafton and Suffolk street is the Molly Malone statue. The statue is a tribute to the famous Irish song “Cockles and Mussels”. Legend has it that there was an actual Molly in the 17th century who peddled goods in a cart in the daytime and was a prostitute in the evenings. There is no corroborating evidence of this however in 1988, the Dublin Commission endorsed the claim that there really was a Molly Malone born on June 13, 1699 and proclaimed June 13 as Molly Malone day. Il

Additional Ireland Attraction Guides:

  • Getting around Ireland – Using Public Transportation in Ireland
  • Cliffs of Moher – A very popular tour, a complete guide to the 16 attractions along the Cliffs of Moher Coastal Walk
  • Doolin – A quaint popular village in County Clare. Stop overnight and walk to the Cliffs of Moher from Doolin or enjoy the many other attractions in and around Doolin
  • The Ring of Kerry – A spectacular 111 mile scenic route on the Iveragh Peninsula. Start at either Kenmare or Killarney for a circular route of three hours without stops. Jaw dropping views of the Atlantic ocean, charming villages and wild sweeping mountains makes this a popular must see attraction in Ireland. Use the map and attractions for the complete self guided tour of the Ring of Kerry
  • The Dingle Peninsula – It is a 30 mile long clockwise loop that takes about 4 hours to complete. The area is the bedrock of Irish culture with signs in many villages and towns indicating that Irish is the predominant language in the area. The picturesque landscape includes rolling hills, craggy shorelines and sandy beaches. The PDF map and attractions guide explores the attractions of the Dingle Peninsula
  • The Ring of Beara – An 85 mile circular route, similar to Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula, however it is far less travelled. In that sense, it is a better drive as there are far less cars on the road. I found the Ring of Beara far more dramatic than either the Ring of Kerry or the Dingle Peninsula. It is not as popular because the tourist buses are not able to navigate the narrow roads with hairpin bends or the Healey Pass.
  • Dublin: Explore central Dublin on foot with these three self guided walking tours and map:
    • Dublin Walk 1 – Top 18 Attractions, guide to Dublin City Center, North of the River Liffey Dublin
    • Dublin Walk 2 – Top 16 attractions, guide to attractions South of the River Liffey, including the Temple Bar Region
      • The Book of Kells and Trinity College in Dublin. Trinity College is the oldest university in Ireland with the historic Long Room,and the old library with over 200,000 of the very old books. It is the most impressive library in the world
      • In Dublin visit the Little Museum of Dublin, Grafton Street, St Stephens Green and Kilmainham Goal (the prison where many rebels from the Easter Rising were held before their execution)
    • Dublin Walk 3 – Top 16 attractions, guide to Historic Old Dublin
  • Galway – Use the Galway Ireland guide for a flexible and personal tour of over 40 attractions Galway City
  • Aran Islands – For a truly authentic Irish experience visit the Aran Islands. They are located at the mouth of Galway Bay. You can catch a ferry from either Doolin or Rosseeval port (Shuttle from Galway to Rosseeval ferry port)
  • The Glens of Antrim – Driving route for the nine Glens of Antrim in Northern Ireland. The guide includes options for public transportation, walking trails in The Glens and Game of Thrones Attractions
  • Over 100 Northern Ireland Attractions – Visit over 100 attractions along the east and north coast of Ireland along the Antrim and Causeway Coastal Route. Travel by car or public transport from the Mourne Mountains to Londonderry. Includes game of thrones sites, castles and walks along the route
  • The Burren – Explore the karst moonscape bedrock of The Burren located in the southwest region and close to the Cliffs of Moher. Attractions in the Burren include ancient tombs, underground caves, walks on an unusual landscape and The Burren National Park